learning to be teachable

Hey everyone, I’m starting this blog because I want to keep people updated on the progress of my trip to SE Asia.  The trip is not for a while (though coming fast- we leave May 21!), but I want to let you all in on how God is preparing me for the experience.  I don’t know if I’ll be able to write in this when I’m there, but I can at least give you a glimpse of what God is doing in my heart now as I gear up to leave.

I named the blog learningtobeteachable because that’s been a theme of this year for me.  I have a lot of pride (mostly because I’m really cool)*.  One of the ways my pride manifests itself is through my desire to know everything, or, more accurately, to be right about everything.  It’s hard for me to concede that I’m wrong about anything, and if I do, I usually still think in the back of my head that I’m right.  I do this with movies, with theology, with music, with sports, with anything, really.  Even now, as I write this, I’m thinking of times when people disagreed with me and I had to admit I was wrong, and I’m saying to myself, “No, I was right.”  I’m pathetic!

Learning to be teachable means that I am discovering how to humble myself and learn from others.  A man who works at a shelter in Oklahoma City opened my eyes to this recently: I will never know everything there is to know.  I can fill my mind with all sorts of facts and figures, I can repeat a Scripture over and over, I can read as many books as I can find time for, and still there will be an infinite amount of knowledge I haven’t uncovered.  I can’t even fathom how much growing I have left.

Here’s what I want to look like as I learn to be teachable: I want to talk less and listen more.  I want to truly pay attention to what people are saying and figure out what I can learn from them.  I want to study the people around me, not as objects of my desire for knowledge, but as real people that I need to love.  I want to learn how to love them better, to love them like Christ loved people in His life, which started with a knowledge of who those people were in their hearts.  I want to be able to sit down at a table in a homeless shelter and listen to a man tell me the hard story of his life and recognize that nothing I have sets me above him.  My social status and economic well-being?  Rubbish.  My education and job?  Rags.  The only thing I have is Christ.

And the crazy thing is, because I’m rich, that homeless man will ALWAYS know Him better than I do.

I don’t know anything.

I’m going to go to SE Asia to spread the Word of God to an unreached people.  I expect to go in there and be challenged.  I hope I don’t live like a rich man while I’m there.  I hope we sleep in tents most nights.  I hope we’re removed from our creature comforts.  I want to meet the people in that country with the goal of giving them truth and the expectation that I will learn something from them too.  I want to be the man who heard Jesus preach and grew: “‘He who has ears to hear, let him hear.'” -Matthew 11:15

I want to grow.

Thanks for reading.  I’ll probably post on this about once every week.

*disregard this completely

Leave a Reply

