Always

You, my child, are more than your mother’s sins
You, little one, are not your father’s flaws
There is no one else anywhere like you
And I, beloved, think that you’re wonderful

There is One who knew you before your birth
He loved and delighted in you always
I knew you since the day they brought you here
And I, beloved, thought you were wonderful

You’ll fall short and exceed expectations
You’ll love some and hate more than you’ll want to
You’ll regret and say you have no regrets
And I, beloved, will think you’re wonderful

Someday you’ll grow up and hate your parents
You’ll try to understand, resenting them,
But I hope, at least, that you’ll remember
That I will always think you’re wonderful

Leave a Reply

