Trailer of the Hour: Thor: The Dark World

Why I’m pumped: I don’t know what this movie is about- obviously Natalie Portman’s Jane Foster is back, which is a good thing, and I’ve read something about elves, which can only be awesome or really really bad, depending on the kind of elves we’re talking about here.  I’m kind of hoping they’re the Lord of the Rings kind, but this trailer doesn’t really give me that impression.  In any case, the trailer didn’t really tell us much at all- something bad’s going to happen to our hero, and the ones he loves are going to be in jeopardy, and the fate of the world will be threatened.  The guy that made this one studied the Iron Man 3 and Star Trek into Darkness trailers hard.  But I don’t care about all that, because Thor was a surprisingly great comic book movie, one of my favorites of Marvel’s Phase 1.  Director Kenneth Branagh did an impressive job of making the drama seem Shakespearean, and both Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston soared in their roles as Thor and Loki.  What this trailer tells me is that we’re getting the same characters with higher stakes this time, and that’s just fine by me.

Why I’m worried: No more Kenneth Branagh.  That makes me sad.  You could see his sense of melodrama combined with humor in every inch of Thor.  Who is this Alan Taylor dude?  Oh, what, he directed a lot of Game of Thrones episodes?  So basically Thor: The Dark World is going to be a long-ish episode of Game of Thrones with gods instead of humans and without all the freaky nudity?  Never mind, not worried.

Tom Hiddleston’s hair: Tom Hiddleston’s got an interesting look to him. I first saw him as Loki with his dark hair, and in everything else I’ve seen of his he has dirty blonde hair or light brown hair.  So my eyes have to adjust every time I see him anyway.  But his hair at the end of this trailer though.  Dang, Tom.  He may have finally found a look that works for him.  I look forward to seeing that style on the red carpet when he wins Best Actor Ever at next year’s Oscars.

Leave a Reply

