1 Month

I struggle with writing about my life.  Thoughts about pop culture flow out of my furiously typing hands like it’s nothing*, but when it comes to putting the meaningful events in my life into words, I suddenly develop carpal tunnel.  Figuratively speaking.  So it takes me a little time to come up with the right words to say about an event as monumental as, say, MY WEDDING.  It took me about eight months to write about my engagement, and since the wedding is about three times as important as the proposal, I’ll give myself about twenty-four months before I write about the wedding.  So, if you’re looking for some profound insight into the best day/night of my life, come back in about two years!**

However, I can supply you with some pictures of our wedding.  Our fantastic photographer, Amanda Bringham, did a wonderful job capturing exactly how we felt that evening.  She also got some choice pics of our beloved guests.  These pictures will do a better job conveying the feeling of the wedding to you than my words could ever do.  It was the best night of my life, spent with my amazing wife, our extremely supportive family, and our joyful friends.  I couldn’t have asked for a better celebration of the gift of our love.  Thanks to all of you who came and especially to those of you who helped set up and clean up.  Thanks also to our photographer and her husband, Heath, for joining us and making it possible for us to remember the night fondly.

Enjoy.

Our friends got there early to help set up.  Jess & Jawanza were 2 crucial helpers of many.
Our friends got there early to help set up. Jess & Jawanza were 2 crucial helpers of many.
Our great friend Allie helping Vicky get ready.  Allie is our go-to nurse in OK. : )
Our great friend Allie helping Vicky get ready. Allie is our go-to nurse in OK. : )
My groomsmen and ushers helping each other get ready.  JD is now a master at clip-on ties.
My groomsmen and ushers helping each other get ready. JD is now a master at clip-on ties.
The girls' reactions to seeing Vicky in her dress for the first time.  The guys' reactions to seeing me in my tux was much more subdued.
The girls’ reactions to seeing Vicky in her dress for the first time. The guys’ reactions to seeing me in my tux was much more subdued.
My thoughtful brother-in-law preparing to walk his mom down the aisle.
My thoughtful brother-in-law preparing to walk his mom down the aisle.
Vicky's lovely mother helping her get ready.
Vicky’s lovely mother helping her get ready.
Vicky wiping away the tears at having to marry me.
Vicky wiping away the tears at having to marry me.
Scott didn't realize the wedding was today.
Scott didn’t realize the wedding was today.
Before.
Before.
Vicky's dapper dad considering his gift.
Vicky’s dapper dad considering his gift.
Vicky's best friends praying over her.  Beautiful.
Vicky’s best friends praying over her. Beautiful.
Mark and Ann- I love this picture.
Mark and Anne- I love this picture.
The ushers walked the house party down.  Here's Brian and Rachel.
The ushers walked the house party down. Here’s Brian and Rachel.
Todd, the pastor, with me and the groomsmen trailing behind.
Todd, the pastor, with me and the groomsmen trailing behind.
The bridesmaids walking down...almost to Vicky!!!
The bridesmaids walking down…almost to Vicky!!!
...waiting impatiently...
…waiting impatiently…
...finally. : )
…finally. : )
Vicky with her father- the moment of truth.  Will he give her away or won't he?
Vicky with her father- the moment of truth. Will he give her away or won’t he?
My sweet family.
My sweet family.
Goodness she's gorgeous isn't she?
Goodness she’s gorgeous isn’t she?
About to take our first communion as one before God.
About to take our first communion as one before God.
THEY LET ME KISS HER IN FRONT OF EVERYBODY. WEDDINGS ROCK.
THEY LET ME KISS HER IN FRONT OF EVERYBODY. WEDDINGS ROCK.
The wedding party walking back up the aisle.  Ernest got two bridesmaids.  Not sure how he felt about that.
The wedding party walking back up the aisle. Ernest got two bridesmaids. Not sure how he felt about that.
A moment before everyone else arrived.
A moment before everyone else arrived.
I sang a couple songs to Vicky at the reception.
I sang a couple songs to Vicky at the reception.
The Bum half of our family looking on.
The Bum half of our family looking on.
My friend/groomsman, Kevin, accompanying me on guitar. I know, I was worried he'd steal the show too.
My friend/groomsman, Kevin, accompanying me on guitar. I know, I was worried he’d steal the show too.
So I messed up. Whoops.
So I messed up. Whoops.
Thomas's Jay-Z referencing toast.
Thomas’s Jay-Z referencing toast.
Emilee fighting the tears.
Emilee fighting the tears.
Hugging our best friends.  So grateful to them for all they've meant to us.
Hugging our best friends. So grateful to them for all they’ve meant to us.
Cutting the cake.  It looks easy, doesn't it?  Well, IT'S NOT.
Cutting the cake. It looks easy, doesn’t it? Well, IT’S NOT.
Champagne.
Champagne.
Our first dance, to R. Kelly's "Ignition [Remix]".  Just kidding- Ben Rector's "Dance with Me Baby".  But "Ignition" made sense, didn't it?
Our first dance, to R. Kelly’s “Ignition [Remix]”. Just kidding- Ben Rector’s “Dance with Me Baby”. But “Ignition”  would’ve been just as romantic.
Mr. Vargas giving Vicky a dancing lesson.
Mr. Vargas giving Vicky a dancing lesson.
My momma.
My beautiful momma.
The anniversary dance.  Zac & Lori were a huge help during the whole pre-wedding process.  Lori makes a mean bouquet; Zac rocks a mean bowtie.
The anniversary dance. Zac & Lori were a huge help during the whole pre-wedding process. Lori makes a mean bouquet; Zac rocks a mean bowtie.
And the real dancing begins.  Check out KP groovin' there in the second row.
And the real dancing begins. Check out KP groovin’ there in the second row.
One of my favorite pics of the night. <3 u, Sam.
One of my favorite pics of the night.
Quy goes hard.
Quy goes hard.
My Willow House roomies being goofy at the photobooth.
My Willow House roomies being goofy at the photobooth.
Showing off the bling.
Showing off the bling.
Punk rock lives!  Except only Andrew really knows the true meaning of punk.
Punk rock lives! Except only Andrew really knows the true meaning of punk.
Gosh sororities are crazy.
Gosh sororities are crazy.
Bridgitte wants it!
Bridgitte wants it!
Elvie showing off the garter.
Elvie showing off the garter.
Todd signing our marriage license and making it official!
Todd signing our marriage license and making it official!
They cornered her, party-boying like there was no tomorrow.
They cornered her, party-boying like there was no tomorrow.
The proper way to end any special occasion- the OU chant.
The proper way to end any special occasion- the OU chant.
Our sparkler sendoff.  Needless to say, we were impressed.
Our sparkler sendoff. Needless to say, we were impressed.
Fin.
Fin.

*A slight exaggeration.  It’s a little hard sometimes.

**Just kidding.  I’ll write something before that.  Like a year and a half.***

***Just kidding again.

Leave a Reply

