Song of the Hour: “Transgender Dysphoria Blues” by Against Me!

This is a weekly (haha…maybe) feature on a recently released song that I can’t stop listening to.

[Disclaimer: This song contains profanity. Quite a bit of it, actually, though most of it is in reference to epithets directed at the singer by other people.]

Why it rocks: I’ll deal with the controversial stuff in my upcoming post on January’s Notable Music, which will cover the whole album. But, for right now, suffice it to say that we’ve finally found where rock music went during 2013. I haven’t heard anything this unashamed of its rock roots since Japandroids in the summer of 2012. Against Me! has always teetered on the edge of thrash and metal, but this song is unabashed rock: passionate, honest, and worth a crowd-surf or mosh.

Listen if you like…: Japandroids, natch. I also heard a little of The Gaslight Anthem in there, but really, if you miss rock music of any kind, give this a try.

How’s the album?: Eye-opening. I don’t know much about transgender issues, and I have my own beliefs about it, largely based on what little I do know and what I believe the Bible says about gender. That being said, this album is a window into this woman’s mind, an invaluable lesson in empathy.

One thought on “Song of the Hour: “Transgender Dysphoria Blues” by Against Me!

Leave a Reply

