Quick Take: Noah (2014)

noahI get the impression I’m supposed to hate Noah for not presenting the story of the great flood word for word from Scripture, but I don’t. I understand the concerns, but I’m more concerned that, in a year filled with “faith-driven” movies, the most thoughtful one was made by an atheist. There’s a lot of crazy stuff in Noah (rock angels!), but the movie struck me as an honest attempt from director Darren Aronofsky to engage with the Bible. Maybe his motives weren’t pure, but the movie I watched, Hollywood effects and all, was a real look at justice, grace, and the perception that God is silent. And rock angels.

Quicker take: Noah is a story in the Bible, and it maybe looked something like this. Strong maybe.

Leave a Reply

