Song of the Hour: “Get Lost” by Icona Pop

[Disclaimer: There’s profanity in this song. Like quite a bit.]

We all know the real song of the hour is Taylor Swift’s “Shake It Off”. We know this because apparently if you have a blog you were required to write a post about it. (Don’t worry, I’m writing a post about it tomorrow. I’ll fulfill my requirement.) But if we’re talking about which song has officially claimed “Song of the Summer” status for me for now, it’s Icona Pop’s “Get Lost”.

You kind of thought they were one-hit wonders, didn’t you? I did too, though the album that went along with “I Love It” was surprisingly strong; I just didn’t expect them to have another smash hit. And actually, I don’t think they have yet- “Get Lost” hasn’t found any traction on the charts and it only has a little over 100,000 views on YouTube. But to this humble listener, it’s up there with “I Love It”, both in quality and in potential-to-drive-you-crazy-after-the-seventeenth-spin.

“Simplify, simplify, simplify,” someone like Socrates once said, or maybe not, I’m not too sure. Oh, it was Thoreau, I just looked it up, and there were only two “simplify”s. Anyway, I’m sure he was thinking about pop music, and if he was, I’m sure he’d be a huge fan of Icona Pop. It doesn’t get much simpler than their choruses. And it’s not like they even make up for the lack of complexity by singing well; they basically just yell through every chorus. BUT IT WORKS. Tell me your head wasn’t bobbing as soon as that first “Let’s get lo-o-o-o-o-o-ost” chorus kicked in. Go on. Tell me. I’ll wait for your head to stop bobbing.

But it’s not like I’m listening to this song like it’s an anthem. When you pay attention to it, it’s comes off kind of sad. The idea of getting lost simply for the sake of getting lost doesn’t appeal to me at all. Or maybe it does, and I just don’t want it to. And maybe that’s why I can’t stop listening to it.

One thought on “Song of the Hour: “Get Lost” by Icona Pop

Leave a Reply

