Recs &- well, just Recs this week

This will be a new feature, hopefully weekly (YOU’VE LIED TO US BEFORE, BUM), wherein I recommend one movie and one album coming out this week based on hype alone and also I recommend great articles to read from the past week.

Recs

Movie of the week: Saving Christmas

savingchristmas

Just kidding.

SONY-FXOS-03_102414_SteveCenter_FINAL.inddMovie of the week: Foxcatcher

Honestly, I’m not excited about this movie at all. I expect myself to be excited about any awards contender, and something about Foxcatcher just isn’t tickling my fancy. The film stars Channing Tatum and Mark Ruffalo as a pair of wrestling brothers who catch the eye of a wealthy benefactor played by Steve Carell. Watching the trailer, I can’t get a feel for Steve Carell’s character; his performance seems gimmicky. This is, of course, based on less than two minutes of observation. Bennett Miller, Foxcatcher‘s director, while not the most adventurous of auteurs, has yet to make a bad movie. Regardless of my misgivings, the level of buzz this has received coming out of the fall film festivals makes this the most important release of the upcoming weekend. Good riddance, Kirk Cameron!

sonichighwaysAlbum of the week: Sonic Highways by Foo Fighters

Dave Grohl’s band hasn’t been relevant for at least seven years. And if I was complaining about gimmicky above, this album is the definition of gimmicky. Foo Fighters spent the past year or so traveling to eight cities with distinct musical histories and styles, and they recorded one song for their album in each city, supposedly paying homage to that city’s style within the music. Oh, and they also made a documentary show about it that’s currently airing on HBO. If this sounds like the kind of thing you’d like, then you’ll probably love it. If it sounds boring to you, then why are you reading this anyway? I, for one, am excited that Grohl and his band are trying something different. Also, the early songs the band has released have been awesome.

Reads

I did a pretty poor job this week of tracking down articles worth sharing here. Forgive me. I’ll do better next week.

Leave a Reply

