Trailer of the Hour: The Last Five Years

I’m probably the worst person to treat this trailer objectively. In high school I took voice lessons and was in several school musicals. One of my favorite songs that I sang for voice lessons was “If I Didn’t Believe in You” from The Last Five Years, a song that comes at a pivotal moment in the Off-Broadway musical. I loved singing that song, and I loved listening to the whole show on CD in my car, singing every word of every song at the top of my lungs. The show’s conceit (a couple singing about their relationship, the woman starting from the end and the man from the beginning) never failed to move me, even after the 50th listen.

Anyway, my point is that there was no way I was going to come at this preview from an unbiased perspective. No matter what they showed in this trailer, I was going to be pumped for this movie. And, as expected, after watching this trailer, I’m pumped for this movie. Anna Kendrick definitely steals the show; she looks perfect for this role, both from a quality and a marketing perspective. And I love the little snippets we get of the minutiae of Jamie’s and Cathy’s relationship, which you miss in the actual musical.

The trailer itself isn’t very good. There’s not enough of Jeremy Jordan, which makes me wonder if he’s not very good. And the studio makes the mistake of including terrible inserts that say things like “When love ends…the only way to understand it…is to go back to the start” and “Sing…your…heart…out” and “From the director of ‘P.S. I Love You'”, none of which do a good job of selling this movie as the emotionally rich drama it is.

You know what does do a good job of selling this movie period? Shots of Anna Kendrick singing beautifully. That’s all I needed to get me pumped up for this movie.

Leave a Reply

