My Baptism

I was baptized last year in March. It took us a while to get the pictures, but we have them now, and it seemed right to share them on this blog. I don’t write on here about my life very often, but being baptized was an important moment. I was baptized as a child, which was a very important moment for my parents, and therefore a big moment for me, but getting baptized last year was important for different reasons.

I had to be obedient. Jesus Himself was baptized- not to be saved, because the Son of God didn’t need to be saved, but as a symbol of his favor with God. He called us to do the same. I was saved in middle school, but getting baptized last year was an outward expression of what I knew to be true internally: I belong to God.

I also had to tell my story. My wife and I love our church, Providence Road. We’ve been members there since we were married, so expressing my faith before a body of people who had become my family was a privilege.

I also needed a reference point. I know I was saved in middle school, but I don’t have an exact moment to look back on for inspiration in moments of struggle. Remembering the moment your life changes is powerful, but I never had that. Now my baptism is a day I can conjure up when I need to remember that I died to sin and was raised to life with Him. When I need to remember that I’m His, I belong to Him, and that will never change, I can rest in His will and know that I don’t need to lie to make myself look better, I don’t need to watch a movie with explicit sexual content, and I don’t need to eat after I’m full because it will never satisfy me. My baptism didn’t save me, but it’s a huge help while I try to walk with Christ.

My baptism was big for me. Here are the pictures.

baptisms116
Telling my story
baptisms132
Getting ready to be DUNKED
Being dunked
Being dunked
Being raised to life! (symbolically)
Being raised to life! (symbolically)
Haha being dunked is funny
Haha being dunked is funny
My fam
My fam
Leave a Reply

